12/29/12 G.L.A.D. Chronicles – Deciding My Course


I’m taking a few days to think about my goals for 2013. This came up yesterday during lunch with friends Tim and Joanne.

Writing is at the top of my list. I want to study and learn how to write fiction. As much as I love to read fiction, it irks the snot out of me that when I try to write it, my mind goes woefully blank. I have a few unconventional study guides to try to rectify this frustrating situation. I can blame it all on Nancy Drew. I passionately read every adventure of hers that existed when I was young. I thought if I couldn’t be her, I’d at least like to write great mysteries. The only mystery I seem to write so far is whether I’ll make any progress with losing weight. As reviewed in Mysteries Weekly: She’s up, she’s down, her roller coaster weight-loss effort reads like the never-ending nightmare of “Will Government Solve The Fiscal Crisis Before We All Go Over The Cliff?” Actually, I probably WILL lose weight and keep it off before government solves anything!

Back to writing, I feel it’s time for quiet and learning. Read, study, homework, whatever it takes to see if there’s an exciting mystery in me willing to come out. In the meantime, I’m reading so many good authors work now. Some of the best I’ve seen are my fellow writers at www.fanstory.com They’re miles better than what I’ve viewed in the bookstores and on my local library shelves. Maybe that’s one reason I’m not so sure ‘being published’ is any true measure of a writer’s worth. I see published books that aren’t worthy of using for toilet tissue and I read unpublished authors’ writing that absolutely blow me away.

Another goal is to continue the work I started in 2012 of putting myself first. That remains an alien and sometimes guilt-producing notion with me. However, as my personal clock ticks and time on Earth grows shorter, I am left with the knowledge that I don’t have forever to get this thing called life right. If I don’t work on it now, who says I’ll be here tomorrow or next year to make it a priority? I may never be a size twelve, calm, rational, island of tranquility… who am I kidding? I’ll NEVER be that! But I can at least move toward a serene nature and away from a squirrel-on-speed self!

Something interesting I’ve noticed since the last blog… I received various responses to last week’s piece about looking at myself without clothes on. Every response came from a woman either: younger, slimmer, prettier, etc. than me. None expressed being ready to look at themselves in this way (in the mirror buck naked). I find this interesting and a statement of the baggage women carry. Compared to them, I am a human who resembles a Caucasian Shrek. Yet I found no judgement. It wasn’t about how I looked cosmetically. It was about acceptance of who I am. The odd thing is, when I put clothes on again that night, the judgement began to seep right in. I’ve decided the only answer for me is to move to one of those “Nekky Colonies”. Not a nudist colony. This would be a “Nekky Shrekkies” oasis. We’d look like animated movie characters, hence we’d all look quite normal! I think I’m on to something. 🙂

wpid-5754027156_1c88c839b8_o_thumb.jpg                                                                                                     shrek

3 thoughts on “12/29/12 G.L.A.D. Chronicles – Deciding My Course

  1. Hi there! I haven’t seen any thing new from you here, and was wanting to check up on you. I’ve recently come back to my blog after an absence, but am posting away and fighting the battle one day at a time. How are you doing? Well I hope. =) Lots of love! -Pensive Squirrel.

    • I’m so sorry! I thought I responded to this. Is my squirrely memory running away faster than I thought?? I’ve not been here for quite awhile, as you mentioned. My brain won’t come up with anything… or if it does, it’s stuff I don’t think the humans want to hear about. I’ll have a look at your blog to catch up with you, and I do appreciate you asking about me. An extra basket of nuts to you. 🙂

      • There have been some ups and downs – but I’m still here trying to fight the good fight. Many times I can’t think of anything good to post, but I’ll try to at least put up a cute picture of a squirrel every so often just to keep up the habit. A good friend on here gave me the most WONDERFUL award; Blogging without Obligation… http://www.tartx.com/blog/?page_id=233
        I think it would be perfect for you and I’d like to send it your way! Glad you are doing well – it’s VERY good to hear.=)

Leave a Reply

